--- title: "Deletion policies" slug: "deletion-policies" tags: ["#version Cloud", "#version 7.10", "#version 7.11", "#version 7.12"] updated: 2026-02-13T10:49:14Z published: 2026-02-13T10:49:14Z canonical: "knowledgecenter.docuware.com/deletion-policies" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://knowledgecenter.docuware.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Deletion policies DocuWare is able to delete selected documents after a specific retention period. You can find more information about configuring delete rules within the user interface via the info icons ![InfoIcon](https://cdn.document360.io/0108e24e-b3e8-446c-b670-66b1d2a9e861/Images/Documentation/69093.png). Some further information on the rules is given below: - To see the Deletion policies area in DocuWare Configuration, you need the Configure deletion policies permission, which is assigned in DocuWare Configuration > User Administration. - The pulldown menu lists all file cabinets to which the current user has access. - More information on [version management](/v1/docs/configuration-general#version-management) - Documents that are locked at the time the deletion policy is run are not deleted. - Table fields are not displayed in the document filter. - A deletion policy always displays the time for job execution in the time zone in which the policy was created. If your Windows time zone is different, a list will appear and you can select your time zone. This makes it easier to customize job execution since you do not have to work out the time difference: However, the execution time is not automatically postponed.